vincial police, under contract, to attend to police matters. In addition, the Canadian National Railways, the Canadian Pacific Railway Company and the National Harbours Board have their own police forces.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a civil force maintained by the Federal Government. It was established in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police for service in what was then the North-West Territories and, in recognition of its services, was granted the use of the prefix "Royal" by King Edward VII in 1904. Its sphere of operations was expanded in 1918 to include all of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William and in 1920 it absorbed the Dominion Police, its headquarters was transferred from Regina to Ottawa and its title was changed to Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Force is under the control of the Solicitor General of Canada and is headed by a Commissioner who holds the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and are selected from the non-commissioned ranks. The Force has complete jurisdiction in the enforcement of the federal statutes. By arrangement between the federal and provincial governments, it enforces the provincial statutes and the Criminal Code in all provinces exclusive of Ontario and Quebec and under special agreement it polices some 138 municipalities (as of Apr. 1, 1967). It is the sole police force in the Yukon and Northwest Territories, where it also performs various administrative duties on behalf of certain departments of the Federal Government. It maintains liaison officers in London and Washington and represents Canada in the International Criminal Police Organization, which has headquarters in Paris.

Of the Force's 18 divisions, 12 are actively engaged in the work of law enforcement, as are some 43 subdivisions and 662 detachments. The six remaining divisions are "Headquarters", "Depot", "N" and "P" which are maintained as training centres, and "Marine" and "Air", which support the operations of the land divisions. A teletype system links the widespread divisional headquarters with the administrative centre at Ottawa and a network of fixed and mobile radio units operates within the provinces. Focal point of the Force's criminal identification work is the Headquarters Identification Branch; its services, together with those of the divisional and subdivisional units and the four Crime Detection Laboratories, are available to police forces throughout Canada. The Force operates the Canadian Police College at which Force members and selected representatives of other Canadian and foreign police forces may study the latest advances in the fields of crime prevention and detection.

The uniform strength of the Force in April 1967 was 8,086, including marine constables and special constables, at which time it maintained some 2,258 motor vehicles, 21 aircraft, 56 ships and boats, 232 sleigh dogs, 33 police service dogs and 176 horses.

*Quebec Provincial Police Force.*—The Quebec Provincial Police Force is responsible for the maintenance of peace, order and public safety in the province, and for the prevention and investigation of criminal offences and of violation of all laws of the province.

The province is divided into two almost equal parts known as the Montreal Division and the Quebec Division. The Montreal Division has five subdivisions with headquarters at Granby, Hull, Montreal, Rouyn and Sherbrooke; the Quebec Division has four subdivisions with headquarters at Baie Comeau, Chicoutimi, Quebec and Rimouski. There are 112 detachments throughout the province—62 in the Montreal Division and 50 in the Quebec Division. The Force at the end of 1966 had 2,440 regular members—officers, non-commissioned officers and constables.

The Quebec Provincial Police Force is under the command of a Director General who is assisted by an officer holding the rank of Deputy Director General. Each Division is headed by an Assistant Director. A commissioned officer is in command of each subdivision.

Ontario Provincial Police Force.—The Ontario Provincial Police Force is the third largest deployed force on the North American Continent, having a total authorized strength of over 4,200 (1967); it enforces federal and provincial law in areas of Ontario